The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

How do I make a book

Home Forums Archive Topics How do I make a book

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 176 total)
  • Author
    bosspunter
    • Total Posts 1

Hi I am not a novice at this job but from things I read  maybe I should know how to make a book on a race,but I don,t so could somebody tell me how you do it.<br>  THANKS,    boss

Nick Hatton
    • Total Posts 399

I am assuming that you wish to make a 100% book, hopefully I can be of some assistance !!

Let’s assume a three horse race (for simplicity) with the following fictional runners :

Horse A :     THE  JOLLY<br>Horse B :     SOME  CHANCE<br>Horse C :     NOT  REALLY

Firstly I would study the race in detail using speed figures, pace figures, trainer profiles, draw percentages, performance patterns, distance and going requirements, ‘bounce’ possibilities etc. etc…….

Once the form study is done I decide which horse should be the favourite and assign it a score of 1.<br>In this case let’s say that THE JOLLY should be favourite and therefore has a score of 1.

I then compare each of the other horses in turn to the favourite and decide how much chance they have relative to that of the favourite. Let’s say that I think SOME CHANCE has two thirds of the chance of the favourite. I would then give SOME CHANCE  a score of 0.67 (decimal representation of two-thirds). Let us also assume that NOT  REALLY has a fifth of the chance of the favourite and give it a score of 0.2

The next step is to list the horses along with their scores and add these together to find the ‘Total Score’

THE  JOLLY          1<br>SOME  CHANCE   0.67<br>NOT  REALLY       0.2               Total Score = 1.87

Hope you are still with me as we are nearly there !!