The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

Expert opinion required

Home Forums Horse Racing Expert opinion required

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    petski
    • Total Posts 81

Myself and another forum member "Tuffers" run a small racing syndicate. Yesterday a horse of ours called Feet of Fury ran at Salisbury, we felt that all things being equal she should go pretty well. Being fans of Jamie Spencer we booked him as we felt he was the man to do the job. He was under instructions to settle her in the pack, but not to sit too far off the pace. I’ve attached the link to watch yesterdays race below, how p….ed off would you have been with the ride.

http://www.racinguk.com/page/forcelogin … 09,00.html

Zamorston
    Participant
    • Total Posts 1139

Firstly, I’m no expert but will offer my opinion anyway..

I’ve never been Spencer’s biggest fan TBH, but would like to hear his explanation of why the race panned out the way it did for your horse before deciding on it.

Secondly, I’ve never been fortunate enough to be in a position to be able to book a jockey, but I think if I was I would certainly weigh up the pro’s and cons of booking an up and coming apprentice over the experience of someone like Spencer. Give me a Frederik Tylicki (who’s on fire at the minute) or a Jamie Kyne anyday over Spencer.

carvillshill
    Participant
    • Total Posts 2778

If I hadn’t read your post I’d have said you weren’t off a yard. Ran quite well considering the start she gave them.
    In Jamie’s defence she was slowly away last time as well and the ground was pretty fast at Salisbury- possible she needs a bit of give?

Zarkava
    Participant
    • Total Posts 4691

Black and yellow silks way out the back?

Cav
    Participant
    • Total Posts 4825

Poor old Jamie. He gets it from all angles. No wonder he looks well pee’d off most of the time these days.