The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

2000 Guineas Antepost.

Home Forums Horse Racing 2000 Guineas Antepost.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    sketti
    • Total Posts 343

Hello everyone new to the board and just interested if anyone has had an antepost bet on the 2000 guineas?

Be honest even if they look rubbish now!

Got on Rio De La Plata after his goodwood win largely because i like the race it tends to have thrown up good horse recently- Shamardal and Sir Percy.
    However wish i hadnt have bothered, doubt i will get a run hes got French 2000 written all over him my only hope is the sun comes out and firms up the newmarket ground for him.

Anonymous
    Inactive
    • Total Posts 3

Until this year I’ve only followed US racing, so I’m a real beginner when it comes to races in the UK. What kind of prep schedule to horses typically follow leading up to the 2000 guineas? A layoff for the Winter, followed by one race prior to the 2000? Two races? Also, are there specific prep races that tend to used as major preps (equivalent to the Florida Derby, Wood Memorial, and Santa Anita Derby in the US)?

stilvi
    Participant
    • Total Posts 4518

No 2,000 Guineas bet I am afraid – pre-Coolmore and Godolphin it was a little easier to speculate what was going to run.

Very unlikely horses will run twice before the Guineas – much more likely to go there without a previous run. Historically, the main trials are the Greenham at Newbury and Craven at Newmarket although they again are not the stepping stones they used to be.

Gingertipster
    Participant
    • Total Posts 27766

I’ve backed four horses so far.

Started with River Proud 50/1 and took 399/1 yesterday. Came in and then went out again. Considering had excuses the two poor runs, hit head in the stalls in Champagne, over the top in Racing Post, still not without a chance.