The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

Betting on horses – can it be taught?

Home Forums Tipping and Research Trends, Research And Notebooks Betting on horses – can it be taught?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Mounty
    • Total Posts 455

Any opinions as to whether a complete novice punter could learn how to bet successfully in a short space of time by shadowing a pro and having some intensive one-on-one training? Without going into too much detail there’s a TV program in the offing that is hoping to do just this. He or she will have to front up their own cash (probably £10,000) with a view to turning it into a more meaningful sum, perhaps £100,000, within six months.

(Edited by Mounty at 7:55 pm on Jan. 5, 2007)

dave jay
    • Total Posts 3386

I dont think its possible Mounty .. anyone making that sort of money would need another lesson before the frist one was finished on how to dodge getting knock-backs from the bookies.

FlatSeasonLoverFlatSeasonLover
    • Total Posts 2065

Doesn’t it all depend if you have a natural flair for the game or not? Students of the game are likely to have a much greater chance than those who are not involved in the sport in any capacity.

apracing
    Participant
    • Total Posts 3089

<br>Not a chance, especially if they work to such a hopelessly unrealistic target. Any novice, assuming he or she is making their own selections and not just following tips from the ‘expert’, would do well to keep the ten grand intact after six months, let alone add to it.

Any skill can be taught, but for a novice punter, a bank of £100 is a better idea. Given the stakes involved in turning ten grand into a fortune, the fear factor is going to overwhelm any attempt to teach form analysis and pricing.

Like sending a virgin on a Club 18-30 holiday armed with a picture book about the birds and the bees. Which sounds a much better idea for a TV show anyway!