The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

Beaten Length – 2 different values

Home Forums Horse Racing Beaten Length – 2 different values

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Sera
    • Total Posts 4

Hello,

I am new to horse racing and have a problem with reading a past racecard.

http://www.racingpost.com/horses/result … &popup=yes

Polar Annie was beaten 1 length to the winner. So I understand it.

Then I click on Polar Annie’s horse card. There is another value for the same race on 31th May: 13L

Can anybody explain me the difference? Thanks.

davidbrady
    • Total Posts 3901

The 1 length on the RP Result page means that the horse was beaten 1 length by the horse who finished immediately in front, ie Best One in 7th place.

The total beaten lengths of 13 is made up of (nk+3+3.25+1+3+1.5+1)

Blackheath
    • Total Posts 105

They are both the same 13 lengths.

Add neck, 3 lengths, 3 1/4 lengths etc = 13 lengths

Sera
    • Total Posts 4

Both of you, thank you. The 13 is the beaten L (sum of all front running horses) to the winner and 1 to the direct one in the front. Now it’s clear.

Sera
    • Total Posts 4

Another question, L = horse lengths?

davidbrady
    • Total Posts 3901

Not exactly.

A length is actually a measure of time. As far as I know, 1 length = 1/6 of a second. So a horse finishes 1 second behind another horse, then the official distance beaten is 6 lengths.

Somebody else will have to give you the exact time measurement and if it differs for sprints and middle distance races and also between Flat & NH races.

Leemac
    Participant
    • Total Posts 74

Hi David

It varies between 4 and 6 lengths per second depending upon two factors:
    i) whether it’s NH or Flat
    ii) the official going (the faster the ground, the more lengths per second)