The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

Racing Post Proofing/Tipster Policy

Home Forums Tipping and Research Systems Racing Post Proofing/Tipster Policy

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    tttracing
    • Total Posts 184

This is a letter I wrote to the RP recently. It was sparked off by a s**t

e article by Paul Haigh – as usual nothing much to write about. Given its critical nature I am not surprised that it didnt get published. Other people have indicated problems with proofing to or obtaining proofing data from the RP. I think the RP is hypocritical in its approach and should protect punters more – What do you think?

Reference: Paul Haigh article "punting euphoria" 24/03/03

Dear Paul,

Normally I can bypass your rambling column with ease but your article on ‘punting euphoria’ grabbed my interest. I was interested because I am a professional punter and make money from tipping. I do not have any particular issue with your assessment of tipsters and agree that there are a number of charlatans and con-men operating scams right now. Racing, as with any industry, has its fair share of gullible participants and people ready to exploit that gullibility.

What I do take issue with is your placement of the Racing Post on a pedestal with a plaque that reads "punters champion". Lets get this straight. The RP is a commercial entity not a charity. If the RP didn’t generate revenue and profit it wouldn’t exist in its current form. And how is some of that income generated? Well call me Paul Haigh’s Auntie if it isn’t advertising revenue from the much maligned tipsters themselves!