The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

Facts and Figures Relating to the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes

If you have an interest in learning about popular horse racing events, then perhaps somewhere to start is the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes. So, here are a few facts and figures relating to this prestigious event.

The Queen Elizabeth II is a Group 1 flat horse race that occurs in Great Britain and is open to horses of age three or above. The event takes place at Ascot every year in October as part of British Champions Day. In total, the course is one mile long, and this is the way it has always been since its inception in 1955.

When the event was established, it took place in September. At that time, it was renamed in honour of Queen Elizabeth II, being previously raced under the title of the Knights’ Royal Stakes. Its first three winners were all horses that were trained in France and its present system of race grading was introduced in 1971. The first time it became a Group 1 level event was in 1987.

The event has also been won three times by the same horse – the New Zealand foaled Tulloch. This horse claimed victories in 1958, 1960 and 1961, respectively. Often regarded as one of the finest racehorses in Australian racing history, this horse won at distances from 5 furlongs to 2 miles, established Australian records at 10 furlongs and 12 furlongs, while also being regarded as taking 2 seconds off of Phar Lap’s 28-year-old record for the AJC Derby.

Other Facts About the Event

This event isn’t only famous for its various winners, but also for two stunning defeats as well. In 1997, the horse Intergaze spoiled the farewell party of champion Octagonal and then just seven years later, the same happened to Octagonal’s most-respected son, Lonhro who was dethroned by Grand Armee.

It has also brought in plenty of sports bets over the years, with many people clambering to back their favourite when it comes around. Sites such as Bet9ja frequently allow wagers to be placed on horse racing events like the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes, and that platform even has its own Bet9ja app that you can download for your mobile device. Through this, you can follow the horse racing and many other sporting events, whilst placing wagers on your favourite events.

From 2008, the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes was added to the Breeders’ Cup Challenge series, meaning that from that point onwards, the winner earned itself an automatic invite to compete in the Breeders’ Cup Mile. Yet, it was just four years later that it was removed from that very same series.

As of 2011, the event was switched from taking place in September to one month later and had its prize fund increased four times over, to a huge £1 million.

Last year’s race saw King of Change, a horse owned by Ali Abdulla Saeed and ridden by jockey Sean Levey win the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes. The three-year-old horse finished the race in 1:44.88, taking the title from Roaring Lion in 2018, which actually managed to secure a victory in 1:42.48.

Leave a comment