The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

Counting Down Top Horses of the Decade

As the decade comes to an end, the 2010s will be long remembered for thrilling horse races and determined jockeys who set numerous world records. As a result, horse betting fans had lots of opportunities to make money with the offers available at, while watching different horses battle it out. Here’s a list of the top horses of the decade.

1. American Pharoah

Although others won more races and collected higher earnings, especially after the high-paying Pegasus World Cup was introduced in 2017, Pharoah won the races that mattered most, becoming the 12th winner of the Triple Crown, the first horse to do so since Affirmed in 1978.

A champion at 2 in 2014, when Pharoah won the Del Mar Futurity (G1), and FrontRunner Stakes (G1), he continued to shine brighter at 3, winning the William Hill Haskell Invitational Stakes (G1), Arkansas Derby (G1), Rebel Stakes (G2), in addition to his Classic triumphs and Triple Crown. Pharoah wrapped up his career by winning Horse of the Year in 2015 and the 2015 Breeder’s Cup Classic.

2. Wise Dan

An incredible span of races from 2010-2014 saw the Wiseman’s Ferry gelding win 23 of 31 starts – 19 graded – on his journey to becoming the first horse to win the same three Eclipse Awards in successive years, having been named champion older male, Horse of the Year and champion male turf horse in 2012 and 2013.

A graded stakes winner on dirt, turf, and synthetic, he won 11 grade 1 races and lost just once in 16 turf races, his preferred surface. Wise Dan went 10-for-11 in 2013-14, only suffering defeat when he finished second in the Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes (G1) in 2013 when it was taken off the grass and run on the faux Polytrack surface in place at the time at Keeneland.

3. California Chrome

Although he lacked the skills of Arrogate and lost to him in two meetings, his lengthy brilliance left a more reassuring mark. Impressive from age 2-5, he won his first Horse of the Year award at three after winning the Preakness Stakes (G1) and the Kentucky Derby in 2014. He earned a second Horse of the Year title as a 5-year-old in 2016 when his only defeat in eight starts came when 2nd in the 2016 Classic.

Besides his 2016 Classic, he also won the 2016 Dubai World Cup, one year after finishing second in his first try in that race. California Chrome finished ninth in the 2017 Pegasus World Cup and retired despite never winning a Breeders’ Cup race.

4. Gun Runner

Qualified as a spring 3-year-old when he won the Louisiana Derby (G2) and finished third in the 2016 Kentucky Derby, Gun Runner rose to greater heights later that year and for the rest of his career. After finishing 2nd in the Las Vegas Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile (G1) in 2016, he hit back by winning seven of eight races, including six grade 1s, plus the 2017 Classic and 2018 Pegasus World Cup.

Only Arrogate was his equal over this eight-race sequence, coming at a time when Arrogate was the best dirt horse in the world. Later, Gun Runner beat him in the 2017 Classic.

Leave a comment