The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

Was Long Run REALLY 8lbs better than Big Buck’s?

Home Forums Horse Racing Was Long Run REALLY 8lbs better than Big Buck’s?

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Keymaster
    • Total Posts 9230

The BHA have released the Anglo/Irish rankings/ratings for 2010/2011.

Headlines here –

https://theracingforum.co.uk/horse-racing-forum/post383882.html

The first thing that cathches the eye is the differential between the top hurdler Big Buck’s (1lb clear of Hurricane Run whi is, in turn, the highest rated Champion since Istabraq). Now I’m not a handicapping expert so I’m not sure if there is an ‘in-built’ differential between chasers and hurdlers but, if not, I am at a loss to explain why a horse who has treated his opponents with utter disdain over hurdles lags over half a stone behind the best jumper, Long Run on 182. I’ve reproduced some comments from Timeform Head Of Handicapping on the issue below (bearing in mind that these are BHA and notr Timeform ratings).

It may be that the performances, in terms of horses beaten, weight carried, etc, has rendered it impossible to rate BB any higher but it seems incongruous. Perhaps the h’cappers are suffering now from having rated Kauto Star and Denman too highly in the past? Or perhaps it illustrates a long distance chaser bias (as with the percieved middle distance bias over the falt).

And would you really rate Sizing Europe ahead of Hurricane Run?

Chasers over-rated IMO.

Excerpt from Simon Rowlands blog on Betfair – http://betting.betfair.com/horse-racing/timeform-features/handicappers-corner-variety-is-the-spice-of-life-090511.html