The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

Total Beginner here

Home Forums Horse Racing Total Beginner here

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Nolimits
    • Total Posts 5

I’m posting here looking for advice. I’ve done a search and couldn’t find a similar topic done before. Basically, most of my life I’ve had no interest in Horse racing and to be honest thought it was quite boring. After joining betfair a while ago I started placing a few bets and began catching the bug. Now I want to try to learn everything I can about it. What I’m looking for is a book that’ll give me the basics, hopefully the lowdown on the likes of trainers and jockeys as well. I know absolutely nothing about horse racing except I’m not great at picking winners :cry: . I don’t think I’ve ever so much as looked at a racing page in the paper let alone know how to read form. Until recently my only experience of horse racing was picking a horse in the grand national based solely on his name (I was a kid).

I found a book called "Betting on Horse Racing for Dummies" I get the idea from the review of it that its mostly american based. Would this particulary matter, are the basics universal even if I’d still have to learn more my self? I’d appreciate if anyone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks for any help.

Ian
    • Total Posts 1415

Can’t help you on books really but one bit of advice I would give you is don’t bother picking up newspapers. Watch races and form your own opinion of horses. Trust your eyes not what a newspaper tipster tells you.

At the end of the day whatever book you read it won’t pick which horses you should back its going to come down to your own judgement.

Understand racing from top to bottom. Understand the structure and pattern of races from Group 1 (highest class) right down to sellers and claimers.