Just wondering if some jockeys are sending out signals in running. The more I watch jump racing, the more I wonder.
For instance, when a horse is moving through the pack near the end of a race, the jockey sometimes takes off his goggles, or takes an extravagant pull with the loose part of the reins from one side or the other.
I reckon there is one jockey who sends out a clear signal around about two out, and if I am right, is this within the rules?
Forty years ago I had a friend who was an athlete on the Scottish circuit, and he put his hankie to his nose on the last lap if he was going to win.