The home of intelligent horse racing discussion
The home of intelligent horse racing discussion

How to escape mug punter land?

Home Forums Archive Topics How to escape mug punter land?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 89 total)
  • Author
    Mug Punter
    • Total Posts 27

For those of you that are profitable long term. How did you do it? What should I be reading/doing to escape being a long term loser?

The Market Man
    • Total Posts 396

Discipline is key IMO. I’m no pro punter by a long. long way but I do make a profit generally, this flat season has been fantastic for me so far, long may it continue.

I agree with EC its very difficult to tell somebody how to make a profit, everyone has different ways of doing things because everyone is different. It IS possible to make a profit but for me if I wasn’t disciplined in the type of bets I have I wouldn’t make a profit I’d lose a load.

A couple of tips I would give anyone are :

1) Completely disregard comments from owners, trainers, jockeys.

2) Completely ignore tipsters / so called experts.

3) stay away from multiple bets.

4) Never ever chase losses.

5) Don’t bet until everything is right in whatever way you choose your bets.

Be your own man and do things your way, trust your own knowledge.

<br>I don’t keep strict records as such I know most do but I keep a running total of how much I’m up / down.

My advice unless you’ve been into racing for at least ten years don’t even bother trying to make a profit because it takes a long, long time to learn.

(Edited by The Market Man at 5:45 pm on Aug. 16, 2006)

SirHarryLewis
    Participant
    • Total Posts 1208

Im also a million miles away from being a pro but I dont have to keep topping up my account either so I suppose Ill give you a little advice about how not to be a massive loser.

Keep records…its amazing how one only remembers  the bets that paid.  This can be very sobering.

Its about the odds..  Backing overpriced horses  pays in the long term.